Maurice Ravel -The Swiss Watchmaker

Maurice Ravel was born on March 7, 1875, in the small fishing village of Ciboure in the Basque region, near the Franco-Spanish border.  His father, Pierre-Joseph, was a Frenchman of Swiss descent. Pierre-Joseph, a distinguished engineer, met and fell in love with his future wife, a young and beautiful Basque, Marie Delouart, at the time she worked on the Spanish railways.  A few months after Maurice's birth, the family moved from Ciboure to Paris. The parents of Maurice Ravel, Pierre-Joseph Ravel and Marie Delouart. Maurice had a happy childhood. The parents encouraged their two children - Edouard was born in 1878 - to follow their vocation. Maurice's inclination was music. He started music lessons at the age of seven.  Unlike the parents of other composers, Pierre-Joseph viewed positively the prospect of a musical career and sent Maurice to the France's most important musical college, the Conservatoire de Paris in 1889. In the same year, the Paris Exhibition brought toget

Antonín Dvořák - Famous works

The first page of Symphony No. 9 "From the New World", signed by the composer. The notes on the left show the oldest works with their dates, which Dvorak merged to create his masterpiece.

For Orchestra:

  • Slavonic Dances, Op. 46 & Op. 72
  • Serenade for Strings in E Major, Op. 22


  • Violin Concerto in A minor, Op. 53
  • Cello Concerto in B minor, Op. 104

Chamber Music:

  • String Quartet No. 12 in F Major, Op. 96 "American"


  • No. 1 in C minor "The Bells of Zlonice"
  • No. 2 in B♭ Major
  • No. 3 in C Major, Op. 32
  • No. 4 in D minor
  • No. 5 in F Major, Op. 76
  • No. 6 in D Major, Op. 60
  • No. 7 in D minor, Op. 70
  • No. 8 in G Major, Op. 88
  • No. 9 in E minor "From the New World", Op. 95


  • The Devil and Kate, Op. 112
  • Rusalka, Op. 114
  • Armida, Op. 115

Choral Music:

  • Stabat Mater, Op. 58